DrSlaughterRex

Noob thinking of buying TrackIR...

Does anyone have any recommendations on where to start?

Whether it's an alternative or something like TrackIR 3, I'm new to the whole idea of the product. Aware of what it does, but as to what to get, I'm not very knowledgeable.

Feel free to provide links if you have it.

Track IR is really great

I have a Track IR 4 at the moment with the pro clip and it's working perfectly (having the 6DOF is really usefull in BMS for some switches like the air source)

there is some cheaper altenative but I can't help you much as I never used them

http://www.free-track.net/english/

https://www.trackhat.org/

Nebosja can help you on those alternatives as he's using one of them

If you are going TrackIR 5, would certainly recommend the trackclip pro as well, especially if you have a fairly bright room where your PC is. The default reflectors didn't work very well at all for me unless it was night time or the lights were off. The main improvement with the pro clip is that it is the source of the IR light, rather than the camera. Makes fidelity so much higher and responsive IMO. Only downside is that depending on which version you get, you might have to use 2 USB connections instead of one. Mine was lucky enough to come with an adapter that allows me to just use one.

TIR5 and TrackClipPro. Had it for 6 years now, I think. However: TrackClipPro is extremely fragile and mine is now 3 pieces help by tape and cable ties, but still superior to hat clip. If you feel so inclined,  you can modify it to use battery power, to get rid of the cable. Oh, and you're limited in terms of headset usage. It only fits on thin parts, so after getting new headset, I'm using more tape to attach it.

Main differences are:

• field of view (46 ° x 46 ° for track IR4 when the 5 have 52° x 52°)
  • sensor resolution (355 x 288 for track IR4 when the 5 have 640 x 480)

in this video from Natual Points (maker of the track IR)