Sign in to follow this  
Whiplash

AddAction: general questions for MP // VKing's APP-64 markers not showing

While working on some missions two separate problems came up and I decided I will just post them all in one thread. If you can only comment on one of the problems, feel free to do so anyway and skip the other.

AddAction command (BIS)

As I worked on some kind of Tactical Operation Center, I started to use BIS's "AddAction" command to allow the player to be able to access a variety of different options while looking at a object. Although this works out pretty well in SP, I would like to consult some of the more experienced scripters/ mission makers about its usefulness/ usage in an MP environment.

[A.1] Generally speaking: Is the usage of AddAction possible in MP and what does one have to take into account when doing so? As far as I can see, the effect of the command is local. Sadly I have very little knowledge regarding locality in the arma-verse (one of the reasons I usually try to avoid making any scripts myself) and do not know what that means. In particular, what happens in these two cases:

• Player A activates a AddAction command. For him, after he activated that action he has access to two more AddAction commands. This was due to the condition of the AddAction being activated by altering a variable status set on the object.
    [A.2] Will Player B still see the original AddAction option or can he too now see the additional commands?
  • Player A activates a AddAction command. This fires a script that will change the texture of a monitor object in front of him (using "setObjectTextureGlobal").
    [A.3] Will Player B see this texture being applied to the monitor object or will he still see a "black" screen?

I do not know if there are any alternatives to AddAction. Even with a later addition of the ACE interaction interface, controlling different objects with that feature might not be as "clean" looking as with the scroll wheel action menu.