AshB

Introduction - AshB

Greetings.

I've been playing Arma at UO for more than 2 years, so some of you might know me from gameplay there. I've been keeping one eye on the UOAF forums for quite a while. Not too long ago I built myself a new pc, and last week I got FaceTrackNoIR and my homemade IR point tracker working much more smoothly than before, so I thought now would be a good time to jump in.

I had zero hours in Falcon BMS before last week. Now a handful. I don't have any real world piloting experience, and I don't have much more than an average amount of enthusiasm for the military. What I do have is an interest in cooperative teamwork (hence playing Arma), machinery, technology, and [casually] aviation.

My input hardware is Logitech Extreme 3D Pro with dodgy on centre performance, G25 (in DCS I had the pedals working great as rudder, and shifter console for the hat switch. Not so in BMS.), and IR head tracker.

Even if I don't say much, I have spent a fair amount of time reading the forums. I consider myself to have a fair understanding of what is expected at UOAF. Yes, I have read the SOPs, the Getting Starteds, the tutorials, and watched the videos. Whether I absorbed, retained, and can recall much of what was in them is another matter :wink:

My time zone is GMT+12 so I don't expect to see a great amount of anyone. A lack of ability means it will be some time before I join multiplayer, and much longer before I consider joining an event. Before then, I'll surely have some questions which I will try to put in the right place.

Thanks for reading,

AshB

Welcome to the fold, AshB!

First of all, don't worry about your skill level yet; we'be all been there before, and this will take time and patience to master. If you get stuck or are looking for tips/tricks on a subject let us know and we will do what we can.

Welcome to UOAF

I'm at GMT+0, but if you can find a time when we are both available, I'll be happy to take you through the basics of BMS.