Sign in to follow this  
Herbiie

Basic utilisation and command of an infantry platoon - with pretty pictures!

Hello there! Apologies for the double post.

I am writing this guide because I am bored, and have nothing better to do think that there are a lot of simple ideas and actions that could help those wanting to lead a platoon. There are some basic principles to command that I hope to lay down, as well as some basic drills and how to deal with your own HQ element.

Wether you agree with this guide or not is really immaterial, this is simply my way of doing things that has worked for me, it is not the only way and may not be the best way.

I have a fair amount of experience leading platoons both in game and in real life exercises. I am far from an expert, but I do honestly believe myself to be a decent platoon commander here at UO, despite not being able to play much any more. So, as I have already accidetally hit "post", I shall begin.

listing-large.jpg?h=k_-1Lo3Oj5WrYkU1FEun

Principles Of Command.

If you follow these basic principles you will be more effective as a Platoon Commander.

Concurrent Activity.

If possible, try and do several things at the same time. If you have pilots that need some time to organise themselves before you head in to the battle, get your squad leaders to thoroughly brief their squads and sort out their kit. Try to make sure that nobody is sat around doing nothing. Just because one part of the platoon is doing one thing, this doesn't mean the rest can't do stuff as well. Getting them active can speed up the mission and maintain momentum, whether it's at the beginning of the mission or halfway through a firefight.

Mission Command